Shikhar Dhawan returns to ICC World Cup 2023 team, Yuzvendra Chahal’s leave, former Indian star selected team

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) He has started preparing for the ODI World Cup to be held in India this year. Till now the team for the World Cup has not been announced. Some star Indian players are recovering from injury and eyes are on their return. Meanwhile, former India opener Wasim Jaffer believes that the ICC world cup 2023 For Shikhar Dhawan can be a good player. At the same time, while choosing the possible team for the tournament, he has left out spinner Yuzvendra Chahal. Jaffer also included KL Rahul and Sanju Samson as his wicketkeeping options but Ishan Kishan was missing from his list.

Rohit and Gill will open

Wasim Jaffer picked three spinners in the bowling department, but all of them are left-arm spinners. In which Kuldeep Yadav was potentially returning to his selected team. India will play its first match of the World Cup against Australia on 8 October in Chennai. Jaffer said on Geo Cinema, ‘My three openers will be Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill and Shikhar Dhawan. Even though Shikhar Dhawan will not be selected, but I will keep him as a backup opener. Even if he does not play in the beginning, I have no problem with it.

Virat Kohli will bat at number three

He said, ‘After this obviously Virat Kohli will be at number 3. Shreyas Iyer will be at number 4, KL Rahul at number 5 and Hardik Pandya at number 6. Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav will be my three spinners in the XI. When it comes to the fast bowling attack, his choices were somewhat on the expected lines. He said, ‘In my XI, I will have Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj/Mohammed Shami. I would go with two seamers and they would be Bumrah and Siraj. For me, it is very important that Hardik Pandya bowls because the World Cup is in India. Even if he does not bowl 10 overs and bowls seven-eight overs, it is enough for me.

Sanju Samson will be the backup wicketkeeper

Wasim Jaffer concluded and said, ‘If he (Hardik Pandya) bowls, I will definitely try to play three spinners and I will definitely keep both Akshar and Jadeja as they are all-rounders. My third spinner would obviously be Kuldeep. My fourth seamer will be Shardul Thakur. Sanju Samson will be my backup keeper as I have already selected Shikhar as my third opener.

Full schedule of ICC World Cup 2023

5 October – England v New Zealand – Ahmedabad

6 October – Pakistan v Netherlands – Hyderabad

7 October – Bangladesh vs Afghanistan – Dharamsala

7 October – South Africa v Sri Lanka – Delhi

8 October – India vs Australia – Chennai

9 October – New Zealand v Netherlands – Hyderabad

10 October – England v Bangladesh – Dharamsala

11 October – India vs Afghanistan – Delhi

12 October – Pakistan v Sri Lanka – Hyderabad

13 October – Australia v South Africa – Lucknow

14 October – England v Afghanistan – Delhi

14 October – New Zealand v Bangladesh – Chennai

15 October – India vs Pakistan – Ahmedabad

16 October – Australia vs Sri Lanka – Lucknow

17 October – South Africa v Netherlands – Dharamsala

18 October – New Zealand v Afghanistan – Chennai

19 October – India vs Bangladesh – Pune

20 October – Australia v Pakistan – Bengaluru

21 October – England v South Africa – Mumbai

21 October – Netherlands v Sri Lanka – Lucknow

22 October – India vs New Zealand – Dharamsala

23 October – Pakistan vs Afghanistan – Chennai

24 October – South Africa v Bangladesh – Mumbai

25 October – Australia v Netherlands – Delhi

26 October – England v Sri Lanka – Bengaluru

27 October – Pakistan v South Africa – Chennai

28 October – Netherlands v Bangladesh – Kolkata

28 October – Australia v New Zealand – Dharamsala

29 October – India vs England – Lucknow

30 October – Afghanistan v Sri Lanka – Pune

31 October – Pakistan v Bangladesh – Kolkata

1 November – New Zealand v South Africa – Pune

2 November – India v Sri Lanka – Mumbai

3 November – Netherlands vs Afghanistan – Lucknow

4 November – England vs Australia – Ahmedabad

4 November – New Zealand v Pakistan – Bengaluru

5 November – India vs South Africa – Kolkata

6 November – Bangladesh v Sri Lanka – Delhi

7 November – Australia v Afghanistan – Mumbai

8 November – England v Netherlands – Pune

9 November – New Zealand v Sri Lanka – Bengaluru

10 November – South Africa v Afghanistan – Ahmedabad

11 November – India v Netherlands – Bengaluru

12 November – England v Pakistan – Kolkata

12 November – Australia v Bangladesh – Pune

15 November – Semi Final 1 – Mumbai

16 November – Semi Final 2 – Kolkata

19 November – Final – Ahmedabad