Asia Cup 2023: Colombo groundsman will be rewarded, Jay Shah made a big announcement

Asia Cup 2023: The Asia Cup 2023 match is being played at R Premadasa Stadium in Sri Lanka. There was a lot of disruption in the matches played in Sri Lanka due to rain. Despite this, due to the continuous hard work of the ground staff and curators, the ground was kept safe from rain. Pleased with his work, Asian Cricket Council and Sri Lanka Cricket have announced to give him prize money. In this, a total amount of US $ 50,000 will be given as prize money to the groundsmen and curators of Kandy and Colombo, information about which was tweeted by ACC President Jay Shah himself.

jay shah

The event was organized for the first time in hybrid model.

After the Indian team decided not to play the Asia Cup 2023 in Pakistan, for the first time in the history of the Asia Cup, it was decided to organize it in a hybrid model. In this, 4 matches were played in Pakistan while 9 matches including the final were played in Kandy and Colombo, Sri Lanka. Rain disrupted the Super 4 match several times. But there was no need to cancel any match. The Super-4 match between India and Pakistan at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo could be completed on the reserve day due to rain. The next day after this match, a match was played between India and Sri Lanka. In such a situation, the groundsman, with his hard work, had kept the field completely ready for play that day also.

Rohit Sharma also praised the groundsman

Indian captain Rohit Sharma also praised the groundsmen of Colombo’s R Premadasa Stadium after the match against Pakistan, they kept the ground ready for playing conditions despite rain for two consecutive days. Apart from this, the pitch also appeared much better for batting as well as bowling.

Effect of rain visible even on the day of final match

The final match of the Asia Cup was played at Sri Lanka’s R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo on Sunday. Even on the day of the final match, the weather appeared to deteriorate throughout the match. The groundsman was immediately seen covering the entire ground with a blue tarpaulin to protect the pitch and field from getting wet. Due to rain, it took some time to start the final match. The game was started 40 minutes late instead of on its scheduled time. Batting first, the Sri Lankan team could score only 50 runs after losing all its wickets. Mohammad Siraj bowled amazingly while bowling. He took six wickets for 21 runs in seven overs. While chasing the runs, the Indian team easily achieved the target of 51 runs in 6.1 overs and won the Asia Cup 2023.

After Asia Cup both teams will face each other in November

After the final match of Asia Cup 2023, both India and Sri Lanka teams will face each other in the World Cup. The match between India and Sri Lanka will be played on 02 November in Mumbai. India will play its first match in the World Cup against Australia in Chennai. The most exciting match will be played between India vs Pakistan in Ahmedabad on 14th October.

Results of India vs Sri Lanka Asia Cup final matches

  • 1984 Asia Cup Final: India won the tournament on the basis of round robin format

  • 1988 Asia Cup Final: India beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets

  • 1990 Asia Cup Final: India beat Sri Lanka by 7 wickets

  • 1995 Asia Cup Final: India beats Sri Lanka by 8 wickets

  • 1997 Asia Cup Final: Sri Lanka beat India by 8 wickets

  • 2004 Asia Cup Final: Sri Lanka beats India by 25 runs

  • 2008 Asia Cup Final: Sri Lanka beats India by 100 runs

  • 2010 Asia Cup Final: India beat Sri Lanka by 81 runs

  • 2023 Asia Cup Final: India beats Sri Lanka by 10 wickets

Indian bowlers performed better

In the Asia Cup 2023, both these teams have performed strongly and made it to the finals. Team India remained undefeated and made it to the finals and won 4 out of 5 matches, while the group match against Pakistan was washed out due to rain. Whereas Sri Lanka reached the finals by winning 4 out of 5 matches including two group matches and two Super-4. In the final match, the Sri Lankan team, which won the toss and batted first, did not perform well during the match and lost all its wickets for 50 runs. Except two players of the team, no player had crossed the double figure. Five batsmen of the Sri Lankan team lost their wickets at a loss. The bowlers of the Indian team performed brilliantly. Mohammad Siraj took 6 wickets for 21 runs during his 7 overs bowling. Whereas Hardik Pandya took three wickets giving three runs in 2.2 overs. Chasing their target, the opening batsmen of the Indian team won the title by scoring 51 runs in 6.1 overs.