Irfan Pathan said this on Sanju Samson not being included in the team, Ashwin got a chance

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCI) on Monday announced the team for the three-match ODI series against Australia. This will be a domestic series, which is considered very important before the World Cup. star Rohit SharmaDespite the absence of Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav in the first two matches. sanju samson has been ignored. Reacting to the announcement of India’s squad for the three-match series against Australia, former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan on Monday issued an interesting statement about power-hitter Samson.

Samson’s performance against West Indies was nothing special

Samson’s performance against West Indies on Caribbean soil was not very good. BCCI had earlier named Samson as a backup batsman in India’s Asia Cup squad. However, Samson was dropped from India’s team for the ICC World Cup. The Ajit Agarkar-led selection committee chose KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan as the two wicketkeeper options in the Indian squad for the ICC World Cup 2023.

If I were Samson, I would have been very disappointed: Pathan

On Monday, India announced its team for the three-match Australia series. The team coached by Rahul Dravid chose two different teams for the Australia series. In both the teams, Samson’s name was missing, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Prasidh Krishna and Washington Sundar have been included in the team for the first two matches. After the announcement of India’s team on X (formerly known as Twitter), former cricketer Irfan posted, ‘If I were in Sanju Samson’s place right now, I would be very disappointed.’

R Ashwin can also make a place in the World Cup team

KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan are the top contenders for wicketkeeping for India. At the same time, star batsmen Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer and Shubman Gill have retained their places in the ODI team. Young player Tilak Verma has been included in the Indian team for the first two ODIs against Australia. After the announcement of the Indian team, Ashwin’s return is the biggest topic of discussion. The senior all-rounder is not part of India’s 15-member World Cup squad. Ashwin also failed to make a place in India’s Asia Cup team. Now, after Akshar Patel’s hamstring injury, Ashwin has returned to the ODI team. His inclusion in the World Cup team is also considered almost certain. Spin-bowling all-rounder Ashwin played his last ODI match for India in 2022. If he joins the ODI team then this could be his last ODI.

Indian team against Australia

Indian team for the first two ODIs

KL Rahul (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Tilak Verma, Prasidh Krishna, Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar.

Indian team for the third ODI

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel (for fitness On base), R Ashwin, Washington Sundar.

Australian team

Pat Cummins (captain), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanvir Sangha, Matthew Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis. , David Warner, Adam Zampa.

India-Australia ODI series schedule

  • 1st ODI – 22 September – Mohali

  • Second ODI – 24 September – Indore

  • 3rd ODI – 27 September – Rajkot

2023 World Cup India Squad

  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)

  • Shubhman Gill

  • Virat Kohli

  • Shreyas Iyer

  • Ishaan Kishan

  • KL Rahul

  • Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain)

  • Suryakumar Yadav

  • Ravindra Jadeja

  • Akshar Patel

  • Shardul Thakur

  • Jasprit Bumrah

  • Mohammed Shami

  • Mohammad Siraj

  • Kuldeep Yadav.

Team India’s match schedule

  • 08 October: India vs Australia, Chennai

  • 11 October: India vs Afghanistan, New Delhi

  • 14 October: India vs Pakistan, Ahmedabad

  • 19 October: India vs Bangladesh, Pune

  • 22 October: India vs New Zealand, Dharamsala

  • 29 October: India vs England, Lucknow

  • 02 November: India vs Sri Lanka, Mumbai

  • 05 November: India vs South Africa, Kolkata

  • 12 November: India vs Netherlands, Bengaluru